Newsletter Article

Undergraduate Accomplishments

Phi Beta Kappa

The following students were invited to join Phi Beta Kappa during spring quarter 2013:  Kristi Boes, Christine Hagstrom, Brian Jacoby-McCurdy, Brinn Jones, Sean Lyons, Jeffrey Ou, Geneva Pritchett, and Molly Wright.

2013 Guthrie Prize

Kay Yu Yuan Chai and Amanda Kay Montoya were the winners of the 2013 Guthrie Prize.

Kay's paper, "The Preliminary Efficacy, Feasibility and Acceptability of a Brief Audio-Guided Dialectical Behavior Therapy Mindfulness Skills Intervention for College Students with Emotional Dysregulation," was sponsored by Marsha Linehan, Ph.D., and won in the Best Research Proposal category.  Amanda's paper, "Increasing Interest in Computer Science through Group Work: A Goal Congruity Approach," was sponsored by Sapna Cheryan, Ph.D., and Allison Master, Ph.D., and won in the Best Empirical Paper category.  

Congratulations to Kay and Amanda!

McNair Scholars

Psychology seniors Prysilla De La Torre and Anh Huynh are both current McNair Scholars. Prysilla is pursuing a BS in Psychology along with a BA in Biochemistry and a Diversity minor.  Anh is pursing a BAs in Psychology and in Communication, with a Journalism focus.  Both students are set to graduate in 2014.